West Virginia lawmakers accept abortion ban with few exceptions
CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Legislature on Tuesday passed a sweeping ban on abortion with few exceptions, approving a bill that several Republicans say will block the state’s only abortion clinic. to continue to offer the procedure.
Under the law, victims of rape and incest could obtain an abortion up to eight weeks pregnant, but only if they first report to law enforcement. These victims who are minors would have up to 14 weeks to terminate a pregnancy and must report to either law enforcement or a doctor.
Victims of rape and incest should report the assault within 48 hours of the abortion, and a patient must present a copy of a police report or notarized letter to a doctor before the procedure can be started. carried out.