Skip to content
The first deadline arrives for the Conservative leadership race

Content of the article

OTTAWA — At least eight candidates have passed the first threshold to have their names appear on the final ballot in the Conservative Party of Canada leadership race.

Content of the article

British Columbia MP Marc Dalton is the last to meet today’s deadline to submit the $50,000 entry fee and complete the questionnaire, as well as meet other requirements set by the left.

Dalton, whose campaign promises include holding an inquiry into Ottawa’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, joins former Conservative MP and deputy leader Leona Alleslev and MP Scott Aitchison in making the cut.

Others who have met the deadline include Brampton, Ont., Mayor Patrick Brown and Ontario Independent MPP Roman Baber.

The next hurdle the Conservative leadership candidates must overcome comes in 10 days.

We apologize, but this video failed to load.

By April 29, candidates must submit the full $300,000 required in registration fees and a compliance deposit, along with the signatures of 500 party members.

Pierre Poilievre and Leslyn Lewis have already done so, as has former Quebec premier Jean Charest, meaning the party has vetted all three candidates.

A spokeswoman for Baber’s campaign said she plans to collect and submit the remaining $300,000 “very soon.”