Skip to content
Russia expels diplomats from Belgium and the Netherlands – POLITICO

Russia has expelled diplomats from the Netherlands and Belgium, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced on Tuesday.

The emissaries were summoned to the ministry and told they had to leave Russia within two weeks. Fifteen Dutch diplomats have been declared persona non grata and must leave Russian territory, while the exact number of expelled Belgian diplomats has not been revealed.

Luxembourg’s ambassador to Russia was also summoned to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs following the expulsion of a Russian diplomat by the Grand Duchy a few weeks ago. A Luxembourg diplomatic employee has been declared persona non grata but has not yet been expelled.

Dutch Foreign Minister Wopke Hoekstra said in a press release that The Hague “regrets” the Russian move, but added that he expected it.

Earlier this month, Moscow also expelled diplomats from the EU mission in Russia.

Moscow’s moves are retaliation for a coordinated expulsion of Russian officials by EU countries in late March.