Russia bans actor Jim Carrey from his soil

Russia announced on Monday that it would ban entry into its territory of 100 Canadians, including actor Jim Carrey and several journalists, in response in particular to Canadian sanctions that targeted Russian journalists and actors in October.

• Read also: Ukraine: Canada announces additional aid of $500 million

This decision was taken in response to « the practice of the establishment by the regime of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau of sanctions against the leaders of Russia, its politicians, its parliamentarians (…), journalists and cultural personalities », explains the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in a press release.

Among those banned from entering Russia is actor and comedian Jim Carrey, 60.

Also on the list, along with the Hollywood star, are journalists Paul Workman of CTV and Margaret Evans of CBC, Caroline Xavier, the head of the Communications Security Establishment, as well as several Canadian personalities from Ukrainian origin.

Moscow accuses them of « direct involvement in forming an aggressive anti-Russian policy, » according to the statement.

Since the start of the Russian offensive in Ukraine on February 24, Canada has imposed sanctions on more than 1,400 individuals and entities located in or originating from Russia, Belarus or Ukraine.

In October, Canada notably imposed sanctions on Russian journalists and media as well as actors deemed « accomplices in disinformation » around the conflict in Ukraine.


Back to top button