Rawi Hage and Suzette Mayr among writers shortlisted for Scotiabank Giller Prize

Rawi Hage, Suzette Mayr and Kim Fu are among the finalists for this year’s $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Hage, four times nominated by Giller, is recognized for Stray dogspublished by Knopf Canada, a collection of news from around the world that follows an array of travelers looking for connection.

Calgary-based Mayr won the award for her novel The Sleeping Car Carrierfrom Coach House Books, which follows a black, queer sleeper porter on a treacherous journey from Montreal to Vancouver in 1929.

The story continues under the ad

She was previously shortlisted for the prize in 2011 for her novel Monoceros.

Fu, who was born in Canada and is based in Seattle, landed on the roster for Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Centurya short story book that blurs the lines between the real and the fantastic, published by Coach House Books.

Also in the running are two novice novelists: Noor Naga, selected for If an Egyptian does not speak Englishpublished by Graywolf Press, and Tsering Yangzom Lama, who is nominated for We measure the Earth with our bodiespublished by McClelland & Stewart.

The prize will be awarded on November 7.

The story continues under the ad

READ MORE: Billy-Ray Belcourt among 14 writers shortlisted for $100,000 Giller Prize

This year’s jury includes Canadian authors Casey Plett, Kaie Kellough and Waubgeshig Rice, as well as American authors Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer.

The Giller awards $100,000 each year to the author of the best Canadian novel, graphic novel or collection of short stories published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists.

The Giller was created by Jack Rabinovitch in 1994 in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller.

Click to play the video:

Giller Prize founder Jack Rabinovitch leaves behind a legacy of literacy

Giller Prize founder Jack Rabinovitch leaves behind a legacy in literacy – August 7, 2017

© 2022 The Canadian Press


Back to top button