Queen Elizabeth II’s death means new titles for Archie and Lilibet


The death of Queen Elizabeth II on Thursday triggered a shift in the succession to the throne, starting with her eldest son, the current King Charles III, and ending 15 positions lower.

Thanks to a rule created by King George in 1917, Charles’s ascension to the throne also means Archie and Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor, the children of Prince Harry and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, now technically hold the titles and ranks of prince and princess. .

The rule is known as the Convention of George V or Letters Patent of 1917. It states that children of the Sovereign – the king or queen – can be called princes and princesses, as can children whose fathers are sons of the Sovereign. , explained law professor Craig Prescott in an article on the website of the UK Constitutional Law Association.

« Under the Letters Patent of 1917, (Archie and Lilibet) will become Prince and Princess respectively when Prince Charles becomes King, as their father is then a ‘Sovereign’s Son,' » Prescott wrote in 2021.

Archie and Lilibet live in the United States with their parents, so it’s unclear what functional roles they will have within the royal family, if any, but they are now sixth and seventh in line for the throne.

Other members of the royal family have also taken on new titles, ranks and roles with the death of Queen Elizabeth II. King Charles’ wife, Camilla, the former Duchess of Cornwall, is now Queen Consort.

The Duchy of Cornwall moved on to Prince William and the Duchess of Cambridge, who confirmed their new titles on Thursday, updating their social media accounts read Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Cornwall.

According to Peter Russell, professor emeritus of political science at the University of Toronto, William will assume another new title.

« He’s the Prince of Wales now and he’s the heir whenever his father, King Charles, dies, » Russell told CTVNews.ca in a phone interview Thursday.

The new order of succession of the British monarchy is as follows:

  1. Prince William, the eldest son of Charles and the late Princess Diana. He is married to Kate, Duchess of Cambridge. Their three children follow him in the line of succession.
  2. Prince George of Cambridge, born July 2013
  3. Princess Charlotte of Cambridge, born in May 2015
  4. Prince Louis of Cambridge, born April 2018
  5. Prince Harry, Charles and Diana’s youngest son
  6. Archie Mountbatten-Windsor, born to Harry and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, in May 2019
  7. Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor, born in June 2021
  8. Prince Andrew, Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip’s second eldest son
  9. Princess Beatrice, eldest daughter of Andrew and his ex-wife, Sarah Ferguson.
  10. Sienna Elizabeth, daughter of Beatrice and Edoardo Mapelli Mozzi, born September 2021
  11. Princess Eugenie, Andrew and Ferguson’s youngest daughter
  12. August Brooksbank, born to Eugenie and James Brooksbank in February 2021
  13. Prince Edward, the Queen and Philip’s youngest child
  14. James, Viscount Severn, youngest child of Edward and his wife Sophie, Countess of Wessex
  15. Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor, daughter of Edward and Sophie
The British royal family tree, starting with Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. (AP)


Back to top button