Prime Minister Blaine Higgs among those ‘blacklisted’ by Russia

New Brunswick Premier Blaine Higgs is among 87 Canadian citizens added Thursday to Russia’s so-called “blacklist” which prohibits entry into the country.

The Russian Foreign Ministry added the political, military and business figures to the list in response to Canadian sanctions during the invasion of Ukraine, according to Artem Kalabukhov, political counselor at the Russian Embassy in Ottawa.

“Russia is working tit for tat with its actions against hostile countries, and this policy continues,” he said.

Nova Scotia Premier Tim Houston, Prince Edward Island Premier Dennis King and Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Andrew Furey are also named, as well as the Premiers of Quebec and the three territories, and the Lieutenant Governors of the 10 provinces.

Also on the blacklist are Bombardier CEO Eric Martel and the heads of various tech companies that have donated to Ukraine or considered supplying equipment to its military.

Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly pledged on Thursday to strengthen the existing sanctions in the near future.

Canada has sanctioned business leaders, organizations and companies with ties to Russian President Vladimir Putin as well as the country’s military and security services.

Those sanctioned have had their Canadian assets frozen and will be prevented from doing business in the country.

“All these sanctions against Russia are symbolic in nature and incapable of affecting the Russian economy, and the Canadian government knows this very well,” Kalabukhov said.

Joly is expected to deliver a national address on Monday, emphasizing Canadian support for Ukraine.


Back to top button