Poilievre unveils list of critics and pits Alberta MP Jasraj Singh Hallan against Chrystia Freeland

Conservative leader Pierre Poilievre has released his list of parliamentary critics. He chose Alberta Conservative MP Jasraj Singh Hallan as the party’s new finance critic, opposing him to Deputy Premier and Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland.

Poilievre named 52 critics and 37 other associate critics. But the list leaves out some high-profile Tories, like MP Ed Fast — who backed former Quebec premier Jean Charest for leadership — and Michelle Rempel Garner, who served as co-chair of the Quebec leadership campaign. Patrick Brown.

Former Conservative leader Erin O’Toole was also dropped from the list.

Poilievre has appointed Quebec Conservative MP Gerard Deltell as the party’s environment critic. Environment and Climate Change Minister Steven Guilbeault is also from Quebec.

Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities Minister Dominic LeBlanc will face off against Ontario MP, former leadership candidate and prominent social conservative Leslyn Lewis, who becomes the new critic for infrastructure and communities.

Rob Moore, MP for Fundy Royal, Prince Edward Island, has been named the new justice critic, opposing him to Justice Minister and Attorney General David Lametti. Defense Minister Anita Anand will face the new defense spokesperson, MP James Bezan.

The complete list of conservative critics

Digital Government — Ben Lobb

Agriculture, agrifood and food security — John Barlow

Canadian Heritage — Rachael Thomas

Crown-Indigenous Relations — Jamie Schmale

Finance and Middle Class Prosperity — Jasraj Singh Hallan

Employment, Future Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion — Tracy Gray

Environment and climate change — Gérard Deltell

Environment and Climate Change Minister Steven Guilbeault will have to contend with Quebec Conservative MP Gérard Deltell in the House of Commons. (photos from the Canadian Press)

Families, Children and Social Development — Michelle Ferreri

Federal Economic Development Agency for Eastern, Central and Southern Ontario — Lianne Rood

Fisheries, Oceans and Canadian Coast Guard — Clifford Small

Foreign Affairs—Michael Chong

Health — Stephen Ellis

Housing and Diversity and Inclusion — Scott Aitchison

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship — Tom Kmiec

Federal Economic Development Agency for Northern Ontario (Associate, Crown-Indigenous Relations) — Eric Melillo

Innovation, Science and Industry — Rick Perkins

International development — Garnett Genuis

International Trade — Kyle Seeback

Small Business Recovery and Growth — Brad Vis

Supply Chain Issues — Matt Jeneroux

Red Tape Reduction — Scot Davidson

Justice and Attorney General of Canada — Rob Moore

Civil Liberties — Marilyn Gladu

Mental Health and Suicide Prevention — Todd Doherty

Addictions — Laila Goodridge

Northern Affairs and Arctic Sovereignty; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency — Bob Zimmer

Prairie Economic Development (Advisor to Chief, Economics) — Pat Kelly

Pacific Economic Development — Tako van Popta

Sport; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec — Richard Martel

National Defense — James Bezan

Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities Dominic LeBlanc [right] will face Ontario Conservative MP Leslyn Lewis. (photos from the Canadian Press)

National Revenue — Adam Chambers

Natural Resources — Shannon Stubbs

Official languages ​​— Joël Godin

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency — Jake Stewart

Public Safety — Raquel Dancho

Utilities and Procurement — Kelly Block

Emergency Preparedness — Dane Lloyd

Rural economic development and connectivity — Dan Mazier

Elders — Anna Roberts

Tourism — Tony Baldinelli

Transportation—Mark Strahl

Treasury Board — Stephanie Kusie

Veterans Affairs — Blake Richards

Women and gender equality and youth — Karen Vecchio

Ethics and Responsible Government — Michael Barrett

Infrastructure and Communities — Leslyn Lewis

Work — Chris Lewis

Indigenous Services — Gary Vidal

Pan-Canadian Trade and Competition — Ryan Williams

Hunting, Fishing and Conservation — Blaine Calkins

Democratic Reform – Michael Cooper

Related reviews

Associate Finance and Middle Class Prosperity (Tax Reform) — Philip Lawrence

Associate Finance and Middle Class Prosperity (Affordable Government) — Marty Morantz

Associate Fisheries, Oceans and Canadian Coast Guard (Recreational and West Coast) — Mel Arnold

Associated National Defense (Recruitment and Retention) — Shelby Kramp-Neuman

Natural Resources Associate (Nuclear) — Corey Tochor

Associate Women and Gender Equality and Youth — Dominique Vien

Agriculture Partner — Richard Lehoux

Agricultural Associate—Warren Steinley

Canadian Heritage Associate — Kevin Waugh

Associate Environment and Climate Change — Robert Kitchen

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Assistant —Brad Redekopp

Associated Indigenous Services — Larry Brock

Associate Worker — Rosemarie Falk

Associate Ethics and Responsible Government — Jacques Gourde

Associated Veterans—Fraser Tolmie

Transportation Partner — Dan Muys

Public Safety Associate — Doug Shipley

Associated official languages ​​— Bernard Généreux

Associate International Trade (Advisor to the Chief, Canada/US Relations) — Randy Hoback

Associate Judge and Attorney General – Frank Caputo

Chair, Public Accounts — John Williamson

President, Government Operations and Estimates — Kelly McCauley

Chair, Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics — John Brassard

The house management team

Last month, Poilievre unveiled his leadership team in the House of Commons – a nine-member group that includes two LGBT MPs and one of the few people of color in the Conservative caucus.

Ontario MP Melissa Lantsman, a lesbian, and Alberta MP Tim Uppal, who is South Asian, are now Poilievre’s deputy leaders. Both supported him in the leadership race.

Since her election last year, Lantsman, a former political staffer, lobbyist and CBC commentator, has been a fierce critic of the government’s handling of the COVID-19 file.

Uppal, who represents Edmonton in the Commons, served as Minister of State for Democratic Reform and later Minister of State for Multiculturalism in the government of former Prime Minister Stephen Harper.

Former Conservative leader Andrew Scheer, who was also a strong supporter of Poilievre during the leadership race, was named Opposition House Leader.


Back to top button