NL adds 5 more names to the Order of Canada

Wayne Chaulk, Kevin Blackmore and Ray Johnson of Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers were named to the Order of Canada on Thursday. (Mark Cumby/CBC)

Five more Newfoundlanders were named to the Order of Canada on Thursday, adding their names to more than 7,600 honorees since 1967 in recognition of those in all walks of life who have made extraordinary and sustained contributions to the country.

“What a great way to end the year by paying tribute to those appointed to the Order of Canada and discovering the magnitude and scope of their achievements,” said Governor General Mary Simon.

“Acknowledged pioneers in their respective fields, they inspire, educate and mentor future generations, creating a foundation of excellence in our country that is respected around the world.

Recipients are recommended for appointment by the Advisory Council of the Order of Canada.

This year’s Newfoundland and Labrador recipients include the musical ensemble Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers: Kevin Blackmore of Glovertown, Wayne Chaulk of Charlottetown and Ray Johnson of Carbonear.

Formed in 1983, the three comedians and songwriters have been named for their contributions to Canadian music and comedy and as ambassadors of Newfoundland and Labrador culture and heritage.

A man wearing glasses and a blue shirt sitting in front of two computer screens.
Dr. Conor Maguire was appointed to the Order of Canada on Thursday in December for his contributions to nuclear medicine and radiology. (Eastern Health)

Also among this year’s recipients is Dr. Conor Maguire of St. John’s.

Maguire is recognized for his contributions to nuclear medicine and radiology and for improving health care for patients in Alberta and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Maguire is also an associate professor of radiology in Memorial University’s medical program.

Other recipients from Newfoundland and Labrador include Douglas Dunsmore of St. John’s for his leadership as a choirmaster and music teacher, and for his significant contributions to major provincial and national music organizations.

Dunsmore spent decades as a director of Handel’s Messiah during the holiday season at the Basilica of St. John the Baptist in St. John’s and as a professor in the music department at Memorial University.

The five Newfoundlanders joined 99 other nominations announced Thursday.

The national roster includes actor Eugene Levy and Pittsburgh Penguins star Sydney Crosby.

Nominees will be invited to an investiture ceremony at a later date to receive their insignia. The dates of the ceremonies have not yet been announced.

Read more articles from CBC Newfoundland and Labrador


Back to top button