Skip to content
News from Ukraine: Wimbledon bans players from Russia and Belarus


Tennis players from Russia and Belarus will not be allowed to play at Wimbledon this year due to the war in Ukraine, the All England Club announced on Wednesday.

Among the high-profile players affected by the ban are reigning US Open champion Daniil Medvedev, who recently reached No. 1 in the ATP rankings and is currently No. 2; male number 8 Andrey Rublev; Aryna Sabalenka, who was a Wimbledon semi-finalist in 2021 and No. 4 in the WTA rankings; Victoria Azarenka, former women’s No. 1 who won the Australian Open twice; and Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, finalist of Roland-Garros last year.

Wimbledon starts on June 27.

Russian athletes have been banned from competing in many sports following their country’s invasion of Ukraine. Belarus helped Russia in the war.