New Alberta cabinet includes familiar faces in major portfolios


Alberta Premier Danielle Smith has chosen a new cabinet, uplifting campaign supporters, embracing leadership rivals and parting ways with Jason Nixon – former Premier Jason Kenney’s key lieutenant.

Smith, in a statement, said some key ministers will remain in place, including Health Minister Jason Copping, Justice Minister Tyler Shandro and Education Minister Adriana LaGrange.

Travis Toews, Smith’s runner-up in the UCP leadership race, returns to his former post as finance minister while former Wildrose leader and Smith UCP leadership rival Brian Jean takes up duties in a renamed ministry called Jobs, Economy and Northern Development.

Kaycee Madu, who backed Smith in the leadership race, will become one of two deputy prime ministers while taking charge of a new portfolio called Skilled Trades and Professions.

Mike Ellis, another Smith supporter, will step down as associate minister of mental health and addictions to lead a new department called Public Safety.

Smith supporter Peter Guthrie is the new energy minister, while Todd Loewen, who ran against Smith in the leadership race but has often echoed his political views, will lead a new ministry called Forests, Parks and Tourism.


Back to top button