Skip to content
First deadline reached in Conservative Party leadership race

OTTAWA — At least eight candidates have successfully passed the first stage to see their names on the ballots that will elect the new leader of the Conservative Party of Canada.

British Columbia MP Marc Dalton is the latest candidate to submit his paperwork, including a questionnaire and a $50,000 first-payment of registration fees demanded by the party leadership.

Since the start of his campaign, Mr. Dalton has notably promised to set up an investigation into the management of the COVID-19 pandemic by the federal government. He joins former MK and deputy CPC leader Leona Alleslev and MK Scott Aitchison in the race.

Other candidates who managed to submit their registration documents before the deadline include the mayor of Brampton, Ontario, Patrick Brown and the independent MPP for Ontario Roman Baber.

The next step to be taken is scheduled in ten days. Candidates must, by April 29, pay the balance of the total sum of $200,000 claimed as an entry fee in addition to an amount of $100,000 claimed as a compliance deposit. At the same time, they must submit 500 supporting signatures from party members.

Candidates Pierre Poilievre, Leslyn Lewis and Jean Charest have already completed this second stage. Their candidacies have thus already been validated by the PCC.

A spokeswoman for Roman Baber’s team said the remainder of the $300,000 is expected to be released “very soon”.