Albert Pujols will face Kyle Schwarber in the home run contest.


Mike Fitzpatrick, The Associated Press

NEW YORK — The confrontations for the circuit contest are known.

Philadelphia Phillies slugger Kyle Schwarber will be the first seed in Monday’s event at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles. He hit 28 long balls this season, the most of the eight registered players.

Schwarber will face St. Louis Cardinals veteran Albert Pujols, the eighth seed.

New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso, who is trying to become the first player in history to win the home run contest three times in a row, is the second seed and he will face the Chicago Braves outfielder. Atlanta Ronald Acuña Jr., the seventh seed.

Texas Rangers player Corey Seager, who was added to the American’s roster through injury, will face 21-year-old Seattle Mariners rookie Julio Rodríguez.

Seager spent the first seven seasons of his Major League career with the Dodgers before signing with the Rangers last offseason.

The fourth seed, Washington Nationals outfielder Juan Soto, will have Cleveland Guardians player José Ramírez on his way to the first round.

The seeds and matchups were announced Thursday night by Major League Baseball, based on the players’ home runs as of Wednesday.

Alonso hit 74 home runs in the last home run contest, played at Coors Field in Denver. He defeated Baltimore Orioles player Trey Mancini 23-22 in the final.

Alonso joined Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99) and Yoenis Céspedes (2013-14) as the only players to win the crown two years in a row. Griffey also triumphed in 1994 and is the only player to win the home run contest three times.

Pujols will enter the home run contest for the fifth time in his career, following 2003, 2007, 2009 and 2015. He and Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers were added to the All-Star Game as commissioner Rob Manfred’s pick.

Pujols will be at his 11th participation in the star game. The 42-year-old veteran ranks fifth in Major League history in home runs (685).

Rodríguez will become the 14th rookie to take part in the circuit contest and only two have won the event with this tag, being Alonso, in 2019, and Aaron Judge, in 2017.

Judge leads Major League Baseball with 30 home runs this season and will be one of the A.C.’s outfielders as the most-voted player.


Back to top button